Tags

, , , , ,

So here I am almost two months into the new place. It is an awesome slice of heaven on earth, and while now it doesn’t look like much other than a house plonked amongst the trees, this place has loads of potential.

The most interesting thing about moving to the country is the lifestyle change you make, but also the way in which you conduct your normal activities. Although we aren’t fully rural, where we are currently located is considered semi-rural, and the closest stores and towns to us are a minimum of 20 mins away.

Here is a list of some of the changes I’ve had to adjust to, and whilst initially I thought it would be difficult, it has come about with surprising ease.

  1. No more running water as you wash the dishes! We are on tank water and have just under 25000 litres of holding capacity. However, the state of the tanks has meant that recent rains have not been stored because much of it has leaked out and underneath the house. Now, dishes are soaked in hot water and washed, and then rinsed in another basin in cold water before being left to dry! This includes having under 5 minute showers and closing the toilet tap off after every visit.
  2. Paying attention to the weather and sunrise and sunset times. It is far colder out here than the suburbs, and where in the suburbs it goes dark a little later, over here we are to expect it from about 4:30pm onwards. Wood needs to be gathered for the fireplace, dogs and chooks need to be fed before it gets dark, and any external doors need to be closed properly and secured to avoid snakes coming in. This goes for the toilet too!
  3. Checking the animals daily for ticks. This is a bit of a QLD problem, and although it is not time as yet (tick season), I check my dogs daily and brush them down which is something I didn’t do out in the burbs. Over here longer grasses and shrubbery can home all sorts of insects and bugs, and this is something you have to be very careful of and manage effectively.
  4. Always having dirty feet! I don’t know how or why, but somehow you get dirtier living out in the bush. My feet always seem to be dirty, yet I always wear closed shoes/boots when I work outside.
  5. Inability to have as much excess leisure time. Now that we’re on a bit of land, we also need to spend a lot more time outside, chopping trees and making fire wood, spraying for weeds and bugs, and general maintenance. WoW time has been reduced significantly, but that may also be because we are still unpacking and getting things sorted.
  6. Smaller country cottages, means smaller kitchens and cupboard space! However, the advantage of this is that my second set of pots and pans and plates and glasses can be stored away as the backup set when the usable one has had its day.
  7. Being further away from shops and stores means a lot more preplanning. I now do my shopping online where I can, such as Coles or Woolworths Online and organise for it to be prepared for pickup when I am ready. Saves me having to wander around the shops aimlessly and wasting money: I can preplan what I need and have it ready to go. Everything and anything else that I can get online I do, such as dog tick collars, or clothing or other stuff for the house. You also find that by the time you come out here, going into the ‘big smoke’ so to speak really gets on your nerves. The mindless brain dead numbing traffic is enough to put me off shopping all together.
  8. The country air is amazing for sleep!
  9. Getting to know your neighbours. These are people who have lived here much longer than you and are always willing to help where possible. These kinds of people are different to your run of the mill suburbia kind, and are very special.
  10. Being able to do whatever you want, whenever you want. I don’t have to hear my next door neighbour singing whilst he’s taking a shit or shower, I don’t have to put up with the neighbour and his motorbikes roaring up and down the court, I don’t have to listen to other people’s BS music. No-one can hear you nor can you hear them, and it is bliss! Me being the grumpy hermit that I am, this is more than wonderful!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

