Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love writing. I’ve always loved writing, and whilst unpacking this last week I stumbled across my primary school report cards. All of them detailed how creative my stories were and how sometimes I would trail off, trying to get as much fine detail as possible into what I was trying to say.

When I got to uni stage however, my writing changed. I now find it difficult to write creatively, simply because in the back of my mind I am always thinking of how I will reference that piece of work, or making sure I haven’t plagiarised. Writing at university level requires analysis and critical commentary, something I can do with my eyes closed.

But that leaves me in a bind. Now that I have a blog and am writing somewhat creatively, I find I can never find something to write about! Which is appalling really, because there is so much out there that needs to be heard. But where it becomes complicated is working out what your view is of the world, and do you want to be serious or not. I could write endlessly on the politics of the world, but then I would feel as if I was constantly writing papers for uni, and I kind of want to get away from that. I don’t want to write about work, well, because I can’t really. I also don’t want to write exclusively about WoW, because I don’t do WoW on that level. I can’t give someone a guide on warlocks and spell coefficients and dps output numbers and haste ticks. I’m not mathematical like that.

I also don’t want to be one of those whinging so-and-so’s always writing negative posts complaining about how much injustice or pain or suffering is out there in the world. There are alot of things around us worth complaining about, but there is also a lot of beauty and wonderfullness that isn’t acknowledged as much as it should. I don’t want to become some paranoid conspiracy theorist (I am slightly paranoid, but I blame work for that!) that tries to find any loophole or discrepency and then attempts to make something out of it. It isn’t my style.

So, whilst I’ve established to myself that this will now be a mixed blog, it has the opportunity to be about anything. It might have recipes I like, hints and tips I find useful, WoW related, photography related (although I am on Tumblr for that) or just a random rant at a moment I need to vent.

That being said, I was googling some blog post ideas and saw an idea someone had on their post for ideas for blog posts. I thought about a day in the life of… and realised my days are generally not something that people may find terribly exciting. I get up, feed the chooks and get eggs, get ready for work, go to work, come home, get the firewood, feed the dogs, check the chooks, make dinner, play WoW or watch some T.V, shower, go to bed….

Not very thrilling, is it?

So instead of a day in the life of me, I am going to write a series on a day in the life of my WoW toons. Call me nerdy, it’s ok. Fellow WoW players understand!

Considering that Mists is not far off, and I have about two handfuls of 85’s, it would be an interesting way to get the creative juices flowing with something generally easy to write about. Hopefully, the mini series gets some legs and goes for an internet wander of sorts. It would be nice to have some constructive feedback!

So stay glued to your monitors, because Episode 1 is just around the……..

