Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Rush (Breathless, #1)Rush by Maya Banks
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I absolutely loved this book. I only grabbed it because it was on a NY Times bestseller list I had from a couple months back and BANKS’ name rang a bell. I did not put it down once I started. I have read a bit of erotic fiction, and I find that generally they follow the same thing of the dominant wealthy male, whose wealth is no boundary to what he wants in life. I absolutely loved the characters here, because I think it demonstrated the softness that was always a part of them that they never really projected, the men particularly. I found it interesting that the story didn’t get bogged down in the nitty gritty in terms of the physical descriptions of the people, in fact I didn’t even know Mia was a brunette and being a blonde, I kind of imagined her sort of, in my image if you will when I read the book. With other novels, I normally had a very distinct image of who was who in my head, but this one was sort of, make it who you want it to be. On the other end however, I think that is where it lacked slightly, in that the character development was minimal. I would have probably preferred the context of the one book over three, one focusing on Ash, Gabe and Jace, because I think there was a lot to be said for why they behaved a certain way, or what caused them to think certain things. There were a few gaps I felt I was asking questions about the characters. The relationshi between Mia and her friends was also a bit utopian…anyone that stayed away from their friends for that long was bound to get some slack, and I felt that her best friends relationship came up out of the blue. I would have liked maybe a little bit more on Mia and Caroline’s friendship as an alternate.

Brilliant read though, and I went and got the second book immediately after finishing Rush.

View all my reviews

