Tags

, , , , , ,

A Stolen LifeA Stolen Life by Jaycee Dugard
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This tugged at my heart strings. It was so incredibly sad, but the resolve of Jaycee and her ability to survive was outstanding. I just think that she is so brave for living what she lived, and surviving to tell her story. She is the same age as I am and yet she has a wealth of world experience, despite her sheltered life. Phillip and Nancy were awful, awful people who should never receive mercy or forgiveness for their actions. To rob a child of their livelihood is an absolute disgrace.

Jaycee often has moments of reflection in the book which allow her to tell you how she felt at that time, or what she was experiencing as she was writing. I think this was therapy for her as much as it was her wanting to tell the world her story. I really would have liked to hear more about the way the therapy with the horses worked out because it was so interesting to see the way that animals were used to help her and her little girls.

A truly amazing book. I cried so many times throughout the book, but because it was real, and it was so terribly sad to think that a person could inflict such things on another person. Jaycee is truly amazing, as is this book. Do not hesitate to read this.

View all my reviews

