Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Fever (Breathless, #2)Fever by Maya Banks
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This one started off a little slow for me. To be honest I somehow expected it to lead in a little more; as it almost seemed a bit abrupt in its beginning. I like the concept of doing a story on each of them, however I would have preferred a trilogy for each male character and then possible sideline mini series on Caroline and Mia that continued the story after the major things happened? Not sure, but I still loved Fever.

Another thing with the way it started was that there was no discernible ‘spark’ between Jace and Bethany. One minute it was their first meeting and next minute he’s going insane trying to find her over a 2 week period. I just feel that some things were missed, but maybe that’s just me.

I also didn’t really like the way Jace just flew off the handle. It made him seem far more aggressive than he really was, and I don’t think that it’s feasible to say that only with Bethany was he ok when he’d known everyone else for so much longer. I guess what was missing for me was a little bit of character development in terms of why certain things happened, what caused them, etc.

The story overall though was brilliant. Really high energy, passionate and not sleazy. It was like going on a wild ride, with dips and plateaus! But maybe because I expected the story to continue with Mia and Gabe more prominently is what caught me off guard here. I like that the story still continues subtly, and now that you know the “gist” so to speak, you kind of know what to expect for Book 3. I am looking forward to see what happens with Ash.

Definitely an excellent read, and if you’re anything like me you will devour it in one sitting. 🙂

View all my reviews

